Breaking News

Xenophobic Attacks: Ekweremadu Leads Senate Delegation To South Africa[LIST]

Following fresh xenophobic attacks on Nigerians living in South Africa, Nigerian Senate on Wednesday set up a 7-man delegation to be led by the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu to South Africa.
The Committee which was set up by the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki on Wednesday, are expected to engage South Africa’s legislative arm and other relevant agencies with a view to stopping attacks on foreigners, particularly Nigerians.

Earlier on, Nigerian Senate indicated its readiness to engage in inter-parliamentary discussion with South Africa.

Though South Africa authorities seems to have been condemning attacks on foreigners, DAILY POST had earlier reported pockets of compromises on the parts of the country’s security agents.

It has also been reported that Nigerians were more of the casualties, a situation that prompted some of the lawmakers to recommend hardcore response against South Africa authorities.

Members of the delegation are:

Senator Ike Ekweremadu
Senator Shehu Sani
Senator Ahmed Lawan
Senator Solomon Adeyeye
Senator Shabak Lafiagi
Senator Magnus Abe
Senator Stella Oduah

No comments