Breaking News

JAMB Appoints Prof. Jega, Former INEC Chair, To Head Admission Committee

Prof. Attahiru Jega, former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, has been appointed as chair the Committee on Internationalization of Admissions into Tertiary Educational Institutions in Nigeria, the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board says.
Jega will be assisted by Professor Emeritus, Olugbemiro Jegede, former Vice-Chancellor of the National Open University of Nigeria.

Other members of the nine-man committee include former Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Agriculture, Prof Olushola Oyewole, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Uyo, Prof. Comfort Ekpo,
Prof Aminu Mikailu, Prof Domwini Kuupole and former Chairman of the Association of West African Universities AWAU, Prof. Adenike Oladimeji, Fasasi Zubairu.
Inaugurating the committee, the JAMB Registrar, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, said setting up the committee was necessary in view of the prevailing localization of tertiary institutions in the country, hence the need to urgently put in place the machinery to actualize the internationalization of admissions in Nigeria starting from the 2019/2020 academic session.
The Jega-led committee is to come up with strategies for the internalization of admissions into Nigeria's tertiary institutions through JAMB.
The committee is also charged with suggesting ways foreign centres of JAMB could attract more candidates, especially Nigerians in the diaspora, to apply for admission into Nigerian universities as well as develop a new template for conducting the unified tertiary matriculation examination in more foreign countries.

No comments